However you celebrate the holidays, Classical KDFC has you covered with musical selections to keep you company all season long. Below are some musical treats we’re planning this season.

The Holiday Spirit Channel

From festive brass to carols and more, we have the soundtrack to your holiday season streaming live on our Holiday Spirit Channel page and on our free Apple and Android apps.

A Roman Christmas

Sunday, December 8 | 8 pm
Tune into a special holiday edition of our monthly Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra broadcast as America’s finest period instrument orchestra, and a Bay Area treasure, performs “A Roman Christmas”.

Christmas Nights on KDFC Tonight

Monday, December 9 – Friday, December 23 | 8PM – 11PM
Rik Malone wraps up your weekday evenings with a variety of holiday highlights.

Monday, December 9
A European Christmas, featuring the Christmas story, a Christmas Fairy-tale, and the Star of Bethlehem.

Tuesday, December 10
After the San Francisco Symphony broadcast, the world-premiere recording of Margaret Bonds’ Christmas Oratorio “The Ballad of the Brown King.”

Wednesday, December 11
A Child’s Christmas: Tchaikovsky’s “The Nutcracker” in its entirety, plus Santa Claus, Babes in Toyland, Tiny Tim and the Toy Symphony.

Thursday, December 12
A Very English Christmas: Britten’s “Ceremony of Carols,” Vaughn Williams’ “Hodie” and more.

Fruday, December 13
Music for the Nativity by Barber, Britten, Respighi, Mendelssohn, and Stravinsky.

Monday, December 16
“Lost” Beethoven, “Beethoven’s 10th,” a Beethoven jest and the great Symphony #9 on his 249th birthday.

Tuesday, December 17
On the San Francisco Symphony broadcast: the complete “Messiah” by Handel.

Wedbesday, December 18
Carols and Pastorales.

Thursday, December 19
A Baroque Christmas.

Friday, December 20
Bach’s Christmas Oratorio: a brand-new recording, in its entirety.

Monday, December 23
Handel’s “Judas Maccabeus,” in its entirety. Happy Hanukkah!

Modern Times with Alan Chapman

Saturday, December 21 | 10 pm
A twentieth-century Christmas featuring Lutoslawski’s Twenty Polish Christmas Carols.

Comments